DLR institutes

WF | MP | TT

Objective

We are exploring tools for the rapid discovery and development of new materials, their transfer to industrial partners for application, and the identification of simulation approaches that promise quantum advantage.

The aim of QuantiCoM is to develop advanced methods for materials science, materials engineering and industry that use quantum computers to enable the rapid discovery of new materials in the future and to drastically reduce development times. We are using quantum mechanical effects, such as superposition and entanglement, to make the interactions between atomic systems within a material calculable. As computation times on quantum computers scale polynomially rather than exponentially, we will be able to identify potential quantum advantages that will contribute to the implementation of quantum algorithms and their associated industrial benefits. Similarly, new insights into interaction and degradation processes will advance the development of materials, which will then be tested through experimental validation methods.

Motivation

In principle, we can already simulate material systems on an atomic level today and predict their macroscopic properties. However, the multitude of interactions makes it impossible to compute larger atomic systems even on current high-performance computers. In order to develop suitable quantum algorithms on noisy intermediate-scale quantum (NISQ) computers, we are combining the knowledge of three DLR institutes with complementary expertise in the field of metallic materials, molecular dynamics for liquids and the quantum mechanics of battery systems, as these can in principle be computed at an atomic level in a similar way. Physicists will investigate possibilities for entanglement and its use, assess its relevance, and identify quantum advantages. Industry will contribute towards both the development of QC algorithms and in the implementation of quantum algorithms such as quantum embedding theories.

Challenge

With the QuantiCoM project, we want to identify material systems for which a quantum advantage can be expected. For this purpose, we aim to perform QC simulations of relatively simple compounds. In this phase, we want to develop algorithms for QC calculations that extend the performance of systems that model more than 103 atoms and discuss the applications in an industrial setting.

We will also investigate the stability of certain compounds that contribute to the optimisation of pre-treatment and heat treatment processes. By determining the interactions between atoms in solids, technically relevant phenomena such as precipitation kinetics can be explored.

By performing QC optimisation tasks for material development based on Calculation of Phase Diagrams (CALPHAD), we support Rapid Materials Discovery. This is relevant, for example, for the development of novel alloys based on recycled materials. Industry would thus be encouraged to utilise scrap material from combustion engines and to derive practical strategies for recycling or even upcycling.


All News

Publications

DLR-Institut

WF | MP | TT

Auftragnehmer

Ziel

Wir erforschen Werkzeuge zur schnellen Materialentdeckung und -entwicklung, den Transfer zur Anwendung zu industriellen Partnern sowie die Identifikation von Simulationsansätzen, die einen Quantenvorteil versprechen.

Das Ziel von QuantiCoM ist die Entwicklung von fortschrittlichen Methoden unter Nutzung von Quantencomputern für die Materialwissenschaften, die Werkstofftechnik und Industrie, um perspektivisch schnelle Materialentwicklungen zu ermöglichen und Entwicklungszeiten drastisch zu reduzieren. Durch die Nutzung quantenmechanischer Effekte wie Superposition und Verschränkung sollen innerhalb von Materialsystemen die Wechselwirkungen von Atomsystemen berechenbar gemacht werden. Da die Rechenzeiten auf Quantencomputern polynomisch anstatt exponentiell skalieren sollen mögliche Quantenvorteile identifiziert werden, die zur Implementierung von Quantenalgorithmen und damit verbunden industriellem Nutzen beitragen.  Ebenso sollen neue Erkenntnisse in Interaktions- und Degradationsprozessen die Materialentwicklung fördern, die durch experimentelle Validierungsmethoden erprobt werden.

Motivation

Grundsätzlich können wir heute schon Materialsysteme atomistisch simulieren und makroskopische Eigenschaften vorhersagen. Die Vielzahl an Wechselwirkungen macht es jedoch unmöglich, größere Atomsysteme selbst auf aktuellen Hochleistungscomputern zu berechnen. Um geeignete Quantenalgorithmen auf NISQ-Quantencomputern zu entwickeln, kombinieren wir das Wissen dreier DLR-Institute mit komplementären Kompetenzen im Bereich metallischer Werkstoffe, Molekulardynamik für Flüssigkeiten und der Quantenmechanik von Batteriesystemen, da diese grundsätzlich ähnlich atomistisch zu berechnen sind. Die Sichtweise der Physik soll dabei Möglichkeiten der Verschränkung und ihrer Nutzung untersuchen, deren Relevanz einschätzen und Quantenvorteile identifizieren. Die Industrie wird sowohl bei der Entwicklung von QC-Algorithmen als auch bei der Implementierung (z.B. Quantum-Einbettungstheorien) der Quantenalgorithmen beitragen.

Herausforderung

Mit dem Projekt QuantiCoM wollen wir Materialsysteme identifizieren, für die man einen Quantenvorteil erwarten kann. Hierzu werden QC-Simulationen von relativ einfachen Verbindungen angestrebt. In dieser Phase wollen wir Algorithmen für die QC-Berechnungen entwickeln, die die Berechnung von Modellsystemen von mehr als 103 Atomen erweitern, und die Anwendung im industriellen Rahmen erörtern.

Darüber hinaus werden wir die Stabilität bestimten Verbindungen untersuchen, die zur Optimierung von Vor- und Wärmebehandlungsprozessen beitragen. Anhand der Bestimmung der Wechselwirkung zwischen Atomen in Festkörpern lassen sich technisch relevante Phänomene wie Ausscheidungskinetik erforschen.

Durch QC-Optimierungsaufgaben für die CALPHAD-gestützte Materialentwicklung (Calculation of Phase Diagrams) begünstigen wir die Rapid Materials Discovery, was zum Beispiel für die Entwicklung neuartiger Recycling-basierter Legierungen relevant ist. Die Industrie wird somit dabei unterstützt, Schrotte von Verbrennungsmotoren zu verwerten und sinnvolle Strategien für Recyclen oder sogar Upcycling abzuleiten.


Alle Neuigkeiten

Publikationen