DLR institutes

KN | SC | QT | RB

Objective

We are improving the reliability of quantum information processing using methods such as error models, simulators for quantum error correction algorithms and new decoders for quantum error correction.

Quantum computers of the noisy intermediate-scale quantum computer (NISQ) era are prone to errors that render their computations unusable. For certain applications and algorithms, error mitigation is therefore essential. In the R-QIP project, we are investigating quantum error correction techniques to protect quantum computations from errors. To this end, we are starting with a review of the latest error correction solutions and developing system requirements and system models. We then plan to develop a simulation environment to validate these solutions.

Motivation

Quantum computers promise to solve certain classes of problems exponentially faster than classical systems. However, quantum information is inherently prone to errors and information loss: while the actual quantum computation takes place within an environment that is almost entirely free from errors, the hardware required for quantum computing is error prone. Thus, for quantum computation to be feasible in practice, the information stored within the qubits must be protected. This requires the introduction of quantum error correction, which means representing logical (or information) qubits with a larger number of physical (or encoded) qubits. Thus, if some physical qubits are faulty, the remaining ones can be used to restore the logical qubits.

However, it is important that quantum error correction is as efficient as possible so that as many of the few available qubits as possible can be used for computational operations and not exclusively for error correction. Therefore, our goal is to make quantum computation more reliable and efficient in the future.

Challenge

It is likely that the first full-scale quantum error correction codes will be realised soon. This would be a major step for the practical feasibility of quantum computers. However, the most common error-correction methods currently in use, known as surface codes, require an order of magnitude of 100 physical qubits to implement a single reliable logical qubit. The quantum computers of the near future, however, will only have a few hundred to a few thousand physical qubits. Applying surface codes to a quantum computer of this size will yield at most a few tens of logical qubits. This is too low a number for most applications.

Therefore, we want to investigate other quantum codes that require fewer physical qubits to implement a (reliable) logical qubit. Novel classes of quantum codes could significantly reduce this inefficiency, such as quantum low-density parity-check (QLDPC) codes or quantum polar codes. In practice, their performance has not yet been sufficiently investigated.


All News

Publications

DLR-Institute

KN | SC | QT | RB

Ziel

Wir verbessern die Zuverlässigkeit Quanten-Informationsverarbeitung zum Beispiel mithilfe von Fehlermodellen, Simulatoren für Quanten-Fehlerkorrekturalgorithmen und neuen Decodern für die Quantenfehlerkorrektur.

Quantencomputer der NISQ-Ära (Noisy Intermediate Scale Quantum Computer) sind anfällig für Fehler, die Berechnungen unbrauchbar machen. Für bestimmte Anwendungen und Algorithmen ist eine Fehlerminderung deswegen unerlässlich. Im Projekt R-QIP befassen wir uns mit solchen Techniken zur Quantenfehlerkorrektur, um Quantenberechnungen vor Fehlern zu schützen. Dazu beginnen wir mit einer Überprüfung der neuesten Fehlerkorrektur-Codes, erarbeiten Systemanforderungen und Systemmodelle und planen die Entwicklung einer Simulationsumgebung zur Validierung dieser Codes.

Motivation

Quantencomputer versprechen eine exponentielle Beschleunigung bei der Lösung bestimmter Problemklassen. Quanteninformation ist jedoch von Natur aus anfällig für Fehler und Informationsverluste. Die Hardware für Quantencomputer ist von Natur aus fehleranfällig, während die eigentliche Quantenberechnung nur in einer praktisch fehlerfreien Umgebung stattfindet. Damit also Quantenberechnung in der Praxis möglich ist, müssen die Informationen in den Qubits geschützt werden. Dies erfordert die Einführung einer Quantenfehlerkorrektur, die darin besteht, logische (oder Informations-) Qubits durch eine größere Anzahl physikalischer (oder encodierter) Qubits darzustellen. Sind also einige physikalische Qubits fehlerhaft, können die restlichen dazu benutzt werden die logischen Qubits wiederherzustellen.

Es ist aber wichtig, dass die Quantenfehlerkorrektur so effizient wie möglich ist, damit die wenigen verfügbaren Qubits für Rechenoperationen (und nicht ausschließlich für Fehlerkorrektur) genutzt werden können. Deswegen ist es unser Ziel, Quantenberechnung zukünftig zuverlässig und effizient zu gestalten.

Herausforderung

Wahrscheinlich werden bald die ersten vollwertigen Quantenfehlerkorrekturcodes realisiert. Das wäre ein großer Schritt für die praktische Umsetzbarkeit von Quantencomputern. Die derzeit geläufigsten Fehlerkorrekturverfahren, die sogenannten Surface Codes, benötigen jedoch größenordnungsmäßig 100 physische Qubits, um ein zuverlässiges logisches Qubit zu implementieren. Die Quantencomputer der nahen Zukunft werden aber nur über einige Hundert bis wenige Tausend physische Qubits verfügen. Die Anwendung von Surface Codes auf einem Quantencomputer dieser Größe ergibt maximal einige Zehn logische Qubits. Das ist für die meisten Anwendungen zu klein.

Deswegen wollen wir andere Quantencodes untersuchen, die weniger physische Qubits benötigen um ein (zuverlässiges) logisches Qubit zu implementieren. Neuartige Klassen von Quantencodes könnten diese Ineffizienz erheblich reduzieren, wie beispielsweise QLDPC-Codes (Quantum Low-Density Parity-Check) oder Quantenpolarcodes. In der Praxis ist deren Leistungsfähigkeit noch nicht ausreichend untersucht.


Alle Neuigkeiten

Publikationen