Analogue Computers Computer Innovation Center Ulm
Contractor
Project partner

Objective

We are building a classic computer based on the paradigms of quantum-inspired classical computing and want to use analogy formation to demonstrate the superiority of analogue computing. Our objective includes the creation of a software ecosystem for controlling simulations and solving specific problems.

Analogue computers are a key technology for leveraging analogue electronics to support classic digital computing. This does not involve the explicit creation of a quantum computer, but rather a quantum-inspired analogue computer that operates according to classical principles. Unlike quantum computing, classic analogue computing is an established technology that will be ready for market in a few years, at low risk. The aim of the project is to build the largest analogue computer in the world and demonstrate the applicability of the computer, especially compared to quantum computers.

Motivation

Quantum computers are computing systems that are not based on the conventional algorithmic approach. Instead, an experiment is prepared in the form of circuits, the output of which corresponds to the solution of challenging computational problems. Most importantly, it promises greatly reduced solution times. Classic analogue computers work in a very similar way, but are not dependent on complex and expensive laboratory environments such as high vacuum or zero-point temperatures.

Although analogue computers cannot exploit quantum properties such as entanglement, they have no practical limits when it comes to their scalability to large systems. The analogue processor boards to be manufactured in the project use existing products from the semiconductor industry and can also be used in demanding environments such as embedded computing and the Internet of Things (IoT), where there is currently no prospect for quantum computers.

Challenge

An initial challenge to be tackled and solved within the framework of the project is the investigation of suitable connection topologies for large analogue computers. Innovative development is also underway in the field of programmable electronics, also known as software-defined electronics. This involves creating a software ecosystem that allows the programmable analogue computer to be used as a co-processor as transparently as possible. This includes the creation of a domain-specific programming language for the notation of analogue computing circuits and the compiler required to generate the configuration data. Numerical methods that can use an analogue co-processor directly are also being studied and developed as part of the project. Quantum simulation and problems in theoretical computer science that are thought to be solveable using quantum computers are also a central focus of the project.



All News

Analogrechner Computer Innovationszentrum Ulm
Auftragnehmer
Projektpartner

Ziel

Wir bauen einen klassischen Computer nach den Paradigmen des Quantum Inspired Classical Computing und wollen durch Analogiebildung Analog Supremacy nachweisen, also die Überlegenheit analogen Rechnens. Unser Ziel ist außerdem, ein Software-Ökosystem zur Steuerung von Simulationen und Lösung spezieller Probleme zu erschaffen.

Bei Analogcomputern handelt es sich um eine Schlüsseltechnologie zur Mobilmachung der analogen Elektronik, um dem klassischen digitalen Rechnen auf die Sprünge zu helfen. Dabei wird explizit kein Quantencomputer gebaut, sondern ein nach klassischen Prinzipien funktionierender Rechner (Quantum Inspired Analog Computing). Anders als Quantencomputing ist das klassische Analogrechnen eine etablierte Technologie, die in wenigen Jahren mit wenig Risiko zur Marktreife finden wird. Ziel des Projektes ist es, den größten Analogcomputer der Welt zu bauen und damit die Anwendbarkeit des Rechners insbesondere im Vergleich zu Quantencomputern zu demonstrieren.

Motivation

Quantencomputer sind Rechensysteme, die nicht auf dem herkömmlichen algorithmischen Ansatz beruhen. Stattdessen wird ein Experiment in Form von Schaltkreisen präpariert, dessen Ausgang die Lösung von anspruchsvollen rechnerischen Problemen entspricht. Dabei verspricht man sich vor allem stark verkürzte Lösungszeiten. Klassische Analogcomputer funktionieren sehr ähnlich, sind aber nicht abhängig von aufwändigen und teuren Laborumgebungen (etwa Hochvakuum oder Nullpunkttemperaturen).

Zwar können Analogcomputer damit keine Quanteneigenschaften (wie Verschränkung) ausnutzen, haben dafür aber keine praktischen Grenzen bei der Skalierbarkeit zu großen Systemen. Die im Projekt herzustellenden Analogprozessorboards nutzen die existierenden Produkte der Halbleiterindustrie und können perspektivisch auch in anspruchsvollen Umgebungen wie embedded computing und dem Internet of Things (IoT) eingesetzt werden, wo es für Quantencomputer derzeit keine Perspektive gibt.

Herausforderung

Eine erste Herausforderung, die im Rahmen des Projektes in Angriff genommen und gelöst wird, ist die Untersuchung geeigneter Verbindungstopologien für große Analogrechner. Darüber hinaus wird im Gebiet der programmierbaren Elektronik oder Software-defined Electronics innovativ entwickelt: In diesem Rahmen muss ein Software-Ökosystem geschaffen werden, mit dessen Hilfe der programmierbare Analogrechner möglichst transparent als Co-Prozessor genutzt werden kann. Hierzu gehört auch die Schaffung einer domänenspezifischen Programmiersprache zur Notation von analogen Rechenschaltkreisen sowie des für die Erzeugung der Konfigurationsdaten erforderlichen Compilers. Auch werden im Rahmen des Projektes numerische Verfahren betrachtet und entwickelt, welche einen analogen Co-Prozessor direkt nutzen können. Ein großes Augenmerk wird dabei auf Quantensimulation sowie Probleme der theoretischen Informatik gelegt, die auch mit Quantencomputern gelöst werden sollen.




Alle Neuigkeiten