Applications Quanten-Kryptoanalyse Oberpfaffenhofen, Quanten-Kryptoanalyse
DLR-Institut

Objective

We are investigating the security of cryptosystems in the age of powerful quantum computers. In addition to known, cryptographically relevant quantum algorithms, other algorithms will be analysed and adapted in order to evaluate their impact on the security of cryptosystems.

Anyone who needs to be able to determine the security level of cryptosystems in the age of powerful quantum computers must have a deep understanding of the cryptographic relevance of quantum algorithms*. Currently, cryptosystems are deemed to be quantum computer-resistant if they can withstand attacks by Shor’s and Grover’s quantum algorithms. In QUANTITY, we are developing applications of quantum algorithms in cryptanalysis methods for quantum computer-resistant cryptosystems and analysing them to determine the security of cryptosystems in the presence of powerful quantum computers. We will first determine potential speed-ups of classical cryptanalysis methods using quantum algorithms and the cryptographic relevance of existing quantum algorithms. Based on these findings, we will develop novel quantum computer-assisted cryptanalysis methods and validate them using a proof-of-concept implementation.

Motivation

Advances in quantum computing have significant implications for the security of encryption systems. For example, Grover’s quantum search algorithm and Shor’s quantum factorisation algorithm reduce the security level of symmetric and asymmetric encryption methods respectively. While the threat posed by Grover’s search algorithm can be averted by increasing the key length, most of the asymmetric public key methods currently in use, such as Rivest-Shamir-Adleman (RSA), Diffie-Hellman (DH) and methods based on elliptic curves (ECC), are completely broken by Shor’s algorithm. Cryptosystems are considered quantum computer-resistant if they can withstand all currently known attacks on both classical and quantum computers. Quantum computer-resistant cryptosystems will therefore be essential to ensure data security in the age of powerful quantum computers.

Challenge

Currently, the term quantum computer-resistant primarily means “resistant to attacks using Shor and Grover”. However, such a definition only covers a very small part of the possible attacks using quantum algorithms. To determine the security level of encryption methods, the most efficient attacks must be taken into account, on both classical and quantum computers. In order to carry out a cryptanalysis of such methods, the complexity of the solution to the problem underlying the corresponding encryption system must be determined. A promising approach here is the combination of classical cryptanalysis methods with novel or existing quantum algorithms. Analysing and developing cryptographically relevant quantum algorithms thus makes an important contribution to determining the long-term security level of encryption methods and to hardening the concept of quantum computer resistance.

Planned Calls for Proposal

Analysis and proof-of-concept implementation of quantum algorithms

Anwendungen Quanten-Kryptoanalyse Oberpfaffenhofen, Quanten-Kryptoanalyse
DLR-Institut

Ziel

Wir untersuchen die Sicherheit von Kryptosystemen im Zeitalter leistungsfähiger Quantencomputer. Hierbei werden neben bekannten, kryptographisch relevanten Quantenalgorithmen auch weitere Algorithmen analysiert und angepasst, um die Auswirkungen auf die Sicherheit von Kryptosystemen bewerten zu können.

Wer das Sicherheitsniveau von Kryptosystemen im Zeitalter leistungsfähiger Quantencomputer bestimmen können will, muss die kryptographische Relevanz von Quantenalgorithmen tiefgründig verstehen. Aktuell gelten Kryptosysteme als Quantencomputer-resistent, wenn sie Angriffen durch die Quantenalgorithmen von Shor und Grover standhalten. Im Projekt QUANTITY entwickeln wir die Anwendung von Quantenalgorithmen in Kryptanalysemethoden für Quantencomputer-resistente Kryptosysteme und analysieren diese, um die Sicherheit von Kryptosystemen in der Gegenwart leistungsfähiger Quantencomputer bestimmen zu können. Hierbei bestimmen wir zunächst potentielle Beschleunigungen klassischer Kryptanalysemethoden mittels Quantenalgorithmen beziehungsweise die kryptographische Relevanz existierender Quantenalgorithmen. Anhand dieser Erkenntnisse werden wir neuartige Quantencomputer-unterstützte Kryptanalysemethoden entwickeln und mittels einer Proof-of-Concept Implementierung validieren.

Motivation

Die Fortschritte beim Quantencomputing haben signifikante Auswirkungen auf die Sicherheit von Verschlüsselungssystemen. So verringern der Quanten-Suchalgorithmus von Grover sowie der Quanten-Faktorisierungsalgorithmus von Shor das Sicherheitsniveau von symmetrischen beziehungsweise asymmetrischen Verschlüsselungsverfahren. Während die Gefahr durch Grovers Suchalgorithmus durch eine Vergrößerung der Schlüssellänge abgewendet werden kann, werden die meisten aktuell verwendeten asymmetrischen Public-Key-Verfahren wie zum Beispiel Rivest-Shamir-Adleman (RSA), Diffie-Hellman (DH) sowie Verfahren basierend auf elliptischen Kurven (ECC) durch Shors Algorithmus komplett gebrochen. Kryptosysteme gelten als Quantencomputer-resistent, wenn sie allen aktuell bekannten Angriffen, sowohl auf klassischen als auch auf Quantencomputern, standhalten. Somit sind Quantencomputer-resistente Kryptosysteme essentiell um die Datensicherheit im Zeitalter leistungsfähiger Quantencomputer zu gewährleisten.

Herausforderung

Aktuell bezeichnet der Begriff Quantencomputer-resistent vor allem „resistent gegen Angriffe mittels Shor und Grover“. Aber so eine Definition deckt nur einen sehr kleinen Teil der Angriffsmöglichkeiten mittels Quantenalgorithmen ab. Zur Bestimmung des Sicherheitsniveaus von Verschlüsselungsverfahren müssen die effizientesten Angriffe in Betracht gezogen werden, nämlich sowohl auf klassischen als auch auf Quantencomputern. Um eine Kryptanalyse solcher Verfahren durchführen zu können, muss die Komplexität der Lösung des, dem entsprechenden Verschlüsselungssystem zugrundeliegenden, Problems, bestimmt werden. Ein vielversprechender Ansatz ist hierbei die Kombination von klassischen Kryptanalysemethoden mit neuartigen beziehungsweise existierenden Quantenalgorithmen. Die Analyse und Entwicklung von kryptographisch relevanten Quantenalgorithmen leistet somit einen wichtigen Beitrag zur Bestimmung des langfristigen Sicherheitsniveaus von Verschlüsselungsverfahren sowie zur Härtung des Begriffs Quantencomputer-resistent.

Geplante Ausschreibungen

Analyse sowie Proof-of-Concept Implementierung von Quantenalgorithmen