ToQuaFlics

Towards Quantum Fluid Dynamics

Project Info

DLR-Institut

DLR AS | SP

Industriepartner

Locations

Braunschweig

Technologies

Objective

We are investigating ways in which the flow around aircraft can be simulated more efficiently and faster with quantum computers than with classical supercomputers, and what requirements must the hardware meet in order to do so.

The simulation of aerodynamics during take-off, landing or cruise plays a fundamental role in the development of new aircraft. In order to accelerate the introduction of innovative technologies for more economical, environmentally friendly and quiet flying, and to better manage technological risks, a very large number of highly accurate simulations must be performed to assess different aircraft configurations. These simulations are very time-consuming and expensive, even on today’s supercomputers.

Since no exact analytical solutions for the equations of fluid mechanics are known for complicated application cases such as the flow around airplanes, we want to investigate which type of approximation of the equations is suitable for solution on quantum computers and which requirements the hardware has to fulfill in order to solve relevant problems in aerodynamics. For this purpose, we use quantum simulators and real quantum computers of the DLR QCI.

Motivation

The aviation industry faces the challenge of having to make significant contributions to achieving the ambitious global climate and environmental targets. To achieve this, future aircraft must consume significantly less fuel than today’s or use more environmentally friendly engines, and also be quieter, especially during takeoff and landing. In order to be able to assess these properties as early as possible in the development of a new aircraft, a very large number of computer simulations are required, which are barely feasible even on today’s high-performance computers.

Accelerating the simulations, which can only be achieved through the use of quantum computers, promises to close this gap in the future. Unexpected characteristics of an aircraft that would only become evident later in flight testing can be uncovered in advance through a large number of simulations and remedied during the design process. As a vision, a complete flight from takeoff to landing could be simulated on a quantum computer long before the real first flight, thus creating an accurate image of the aircraft and its environmental effects in advance.

Innovation

The simulations of the various flight conditions are based on solving complex mathematical equations describing the interaction between the surrounding air and the aircraft. Classically, these equations are numerically approximated in an approximate form and solved using increasingly finely subdivided computational grids. A simulation becomes more expensive the finer the subdivision of the flow domain. These approaches seem unsuitable for quantum computing. Instead, the focus of the methods investigated in the project is to merge machine learning methods and quantum computing.

This focuses on the use of neural networks and variational algorithms. The approach is based on the fact that a solution of the considered equation can be approximated by a neural network. This universal approximation capability inspires the development of a data-driven solution to these equations. The idea of the solution strategy is to reformulate the problem arising from the equation in such a way that an equivalent minimization problem is solved. Complementary to this exist parameterized quantum circuits, sometimes called quantum neural networks. The study of how these topics can be brought together to make quantum computing useful for flow simulation, among other topics, is an important core of the project.

Planned Calls for Proposal

  • Quantum computing for simulation of sound sources in aero-acoustics
  • Quantum algorithms for the simulation of supersonic flows and propeller drives
  • Quantum algorithms for solving ordinary differential equations.

DLR-Institut

DLR AS | SP

Ziel

Wir untersuchen, wie die Strömung um Flugzeuge mit Quantencomputern effizienter und schneller als mit klassischen Supercomputern simuliert werden kann und welche Anforderungen die Hardware dafür erfüllen muss.

Die Simulation der Aerodynamik während des Starts, der Landung oder des Reiseflugs spielt bei der Entwicklung neuer Flugzeuge eine tragende Rolle. Um die Einführung innovativer Technologien für wirtschaftlicheres, umweltfreundlicheres und leises Fliegen zu beschleunigen und technologische Risiken besser beherrschen zu können, müssen sehr viele hochgenaue Simulationen durchgeführt werden, um verschiedene Flugzeugkonfigurationen beurteilen zu können. Diese Simulationen sind selbst auf heutigen Höchstleistungsrechnern so aufwendig und teuer.

Da für komplizierte Anwendungsfälle wie die Umströmung von Flugzeugen keine exakten analytischen Lösungen für die Gleichungen der Strömungsmechanik bekannt sind, wollen wir untersuchen, welche Näherungsform der Gleichungen sich für die Lösung auf Quantencomputern anbietet und welche Anforderungen die Hardware erfüllen muss, um relevante Probleme der Aerodynamik zu lösen. Dazu nutzen wir Quantensimulatoren und reale Quantencomputer der DLR QCI.

Motivation

Die Luftfahrtindustrie steht vor der Herausforderung, wesentliche Beiträge zur Erreichung der ambitionierten globalen Klima- und Umweltziele liefern zu müssen. Dafür ist es notwendig, dass zukünftige Flugzeuge im Vergleich zu heutigen deutlich weniger Kraftstoff verbrauchen oder umweltfreundlichere Antriebe nutzen, und darüber hinaus insbesondere bei Start und Landung leiser sind. Um diese Eigenschaften möglichst früh in der Entwicklung eines neuen Flugzeugs beurteilen zu können, sind sehr viele Computersimulationen nötig, die auch auf heutigen Hochleistungsrechnern kaum durchführbar sind.

Eine Beschleunigung der Simulationen, wie sie nur durch den Einsatz von Quantencomputern erreicht werden kann, verspricht diese Lücke zukünftig schließen zu können. Unerwartete Eigenschaften eines Flugzeugs, die erst später in der Flugerprobung auffallen würden, können durch eine Vielzahl an Simulationen vorab aufgedeckt und bereits im Entwurfsprozess behoben werden. Als Vision könnte ein kompletter Flug vom Start bis zur Landung auf einem Quantencomputer lange vor dem realen Erstflug simuliert und so ein genaues Abbild des Flugzeugs und dessen Umwelteinwirkungen vorab erstellt werden.

Herausforderung

Die Simulationen der verschiedenen Flugzustände beruhen auf dem Lösen komplexer mathematischer Gleichungen, die die Wechselwirkung zwischen der umgebenden Luft und dem Luftfahrzeug beschreiben. Klassisch werden diese Gleichungen in einer Näherungsform numerisch approximiert und immer feiner unterteilten Rechengittern gelöst. Eine Simulation wird teurer, je feiner das Strömungsgebiet unterteilt ist. Diese Ansätze scheinen für Quantencomputer ungeeignet. Stattdessen soll der Schwerpunkt der im Projekt untersuchten Methoden in der Zusammenführung von Methoden des maschinellen Lernens und Quantencomputern sein.

Dabei steht die Nutzung von neuronalen Netzwerken und variationellen Algorithmen im Fokus. Der Ansatz beruht darauf, dass eine Lösung der betrachteten Gleichung durch ein neuronales Netzwerk approximiert werden kann. Diese universelle Approximationsfähigkeit inspiriert die Entwicklung einer datengesteuerten Lösung dieser Gleichungen. Die Idee der Lösungsstrategie besteht darin, das Problem, welches sich aus der Gleichung ergibt, so umzuformulieren, dass ein äquivalentes Minimierungsproblem gelöst wird. Komplementär dazu existieren parametrisierte Quantenschaltkreise, die manchmal auch quantenneuronale Netze genannt werden. Die Untersuchung der Zusammenführung dieser Thematiken, um Quantencomputer für die Strömungssimulation nutzbar zu machen, bildet neben weiteren Themen, einen wichtigen Kern des Projekts.

Geplante Ausschreibungen

› Quantencomputing zur Simulation von Schallquellen in der Aero-Akustik
› Quantenalgorithmen zur Simulation von Überschallströmungen und Propellerantrieben
› Quantenalgorithmen zum Lösen gewöhnlicher Differentialgleichungen